Philharmonia Orchestra with Marin Alsop and Daniil Bulayev

7.30pm Friday, 30th September 2022
Philharmonia Orchestra - Luca Migliore

The Philharmonia performs under the baton of the eminent Marin Alsop in this concert full of vibrant and energetic music.  

The light and dance-like Strum, originally written for cello quintet but heard here in the revised version for full string orchestra, by talented composer Jessie Montgomery opens the concert, followed by soloist Daniil Bulayev, winner of the 2021 Windsor Festival International String Competition, taking centre stage for Sibelius’s wonderful Violin Concerto, full of rhythmic vitality, gentle expressivity, and an astonishing cadenza. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 – an intense and jubilant piece – completes the programme. 

Duration: 1 hour 50 minutes


Marin Alsop Conductor
Daniil Bulayev Violin


Montgomery Strum
Sibelius Violin Concerto
Beethoven Symphony No. 7

‘The virtuosity of the orchestra had been magnificent.’ – Marc Bridle, Seen and Heard International 

‘Marin Alsop gave dramatic expression to their works, leading the Philharmonia in committed performances.’ – David Truslove, Bachtrack 

Dress: Black Tie

Refreshments are available in the interval, but must be purchased in advance with your ticket. 

Champagne: £10 per glass; white wine: £7 per glass


Purchase Buy Tickets
  • Additional Interval Drinks
    Staff Only have access to additional drinks vouchers products, to allow people who changed their mind after a purchase to have interval drinks after all.