Philharmonia Orchestra: Schubert, Strauss and Mendelssohn

Philharmonia Image

The Philharmonia Orchestra make a welcome return to the Waterloo Chamber with three great works of German Romanticism, conducted by rising-star conductor Antony Hermus.

The two completed movements of Schubert’s Symphony No. 8 are an object lesson in orchestral writing, described by a critic at the first performance as ‘a sweet stream of melodies…so crystal-clear that you can see every pebble on the bottom’.

Inspired by a walking tour of Scotland taken by the composer, Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 vividly depicts the wild and romantic landscapes of the country, whilst the influence of his romantic writing can also be heard in Strauss’s lyrical Horn Concerto No. 1, performed by Richard Watkins, one of today’s most sought-after horn players.

Richard Watkins Horn 
Antony Hermus Conductor 


Schubert Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D.759 ‘Unfinished’
Strauss Horn Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 11
Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 56 ‘Scottish’

Duration: 1 hour 45 minutes

Champagne is available in the interval for a charge of £10 per glass but this must be purchased in advance with your ticket

Dress – Black Tie